New Residential Zones – July Update

Posted by | Planning News | 0 |

The 1st July 2014 saw the introduction of the General Residential Zone across all of the Council’s in Metropolitan Melbourne who had not yet gained ministerial approval for their proposed revised residential zones.

They  include Banyule, Brimbank, Cardinia, Darebin, Frankston, Kingston, Knox, Maribyrnong, Melton, Moonee Valley, Moreland, Mornington Peninsula, Port Philip, Whitehorse and Yarra.

All land previously zoned Residential 1, 2 and 3 in these Authorities will now become General Residential Zone until such time as the Minister approves the implementation of the new zones.

The Minister has also issued a new direction that will require Councils to provide a monitoring report on the implementation of the new zones  within two years of implementation. The reports must specifically assess the effect of the residential zones on housing supply, housing prices, infill development site land prices and the availability of land for infill development.

Please contact the team at Perry Town Planning if you have any queries of questions regarding the new zones.

newspaper templates - theme rewards