Hobsons Bay, Hume, Melbourne, Mitchell and Wyndham New Residential Zones Approved

Posted by | Frankston Reformed Zones | 0 |

The Hobsons Bay City Council, Hume City Council, Melbourne City Council, Mitchell Shire Council and Wyndham City Council have defaulted into the General Residential Zone, following the Minister for Planning’s approval of Amendment GC9.

Councils have until 1 July 2014 to introduce the new residential zones into their local planning schemes. Where councils have not finalised an amendment to implement the new residential zones by 1 July 2014, the General Residential Zone will be implemented to replace all land in the Residential 1, 2 and 3 Zones.

The Minister for Planning has noted that these Councils were not in a position to request the preparation, adoption and approval of a tailored amendment to facilitate a conversion to the reformed residential zones by 1 July 2014. As such, the Minister for Planning has prepared the amendment to facilitate the conversion of these planning schemes to the reformed zones.

Amendment GC9 replaces all land in the Residential 1 Zone and Residential 2 Zone with the General Residential Zone in the municipalities of Hobsons Bay, Hume, Melbourne, Mitchell Shire and Wyndham.

Special provisions apply to land in Hobsons Bay regarding the requirement for a planning permit to construct or extend one dwelling on a lot under 500sqm in Altona, Seaholme, and parts of Newport and Williamstown.


Please don’t hesitate to contact the Perry Town Planning team if you have any questions on how these new residential zones may affect your property.

newspaper templates - theme rewards